Watch this video or read the text below to learn about users.
You should create a user account in Herdly for each person on your ranch who will be using Herdly. One of the strengths of Herdly is its ability to sync changes that different users make so everyone stays up to date. When you first created your ranch in Herdly, the first user account was automatically created. This topic explains how to create and setup additional user accounts. There is no limit to the number of user accounts you can set up.
To open the Users window, go to Set Up > Users. (Setting up users is only available on the computer.)
There is a search field at the top of the window which can be used to quickly find a user if you have a lot of them. You can also toggle between including or not including archived users in the list using the Archived checkbox. The list itself shows the following information:
The information in the Last Connection and Active Temporary Code columns come from the cloud server. As long as you have an internet connection, you can click the Refresh Server Info button to update these columns with current information.
When someone logs into Herdly, including after they install Herdly on a new device, they would normally enter their username and password (and the ranch ID after a new install). However, they also have the option of entering a temporary code instead of their username and password. This can be simpler to do in some situations. It might also be necessary if the user has forgotten their password.
To issue a temporary code for someone, select them in this list and click the Create Temporary Login Code... button (you must be connected to the internet for this to work). A code will be created and displayed in the Active Temporary Code columns. You can then give them the code so they can log in using it. If they are trying to log in after installing Herdly on a new device, you'll also need to give them the ranch ID which is shown at the top right of the window.
It is important to understand that temporary codes only last for a certain amount of time, usually about 60 minutes. If they do not use the code within that time period, it is no longer valid. Also, a code can only be used once.
You can create a new user account by clicking the + button. Or you can edit the information about an existing user by double-clicking them in the list. In either case, a User Settings window will appear. (You can also delete a user by selecting them and clicking the - button. However, this only works if the user is not associated with anything in Herdly yet. Normally you would archive them instead.)
Each user can have a different set of preferences for some things.
We communicate information about Herdly to our customers by sending emails to the addresses associated with each user. You can opt out of receiving different kinds of emails for each user by changing the checkboxes in this section.
The list in this tab shows a number of things that can be done in Herdly. Unchecking an item in this list means that Herdly will not allow this user to perform this task. These changes must be synced to the user's device before these changes take effect.