Locations

Watch this video or read the text below to learn about locations in Herdly.

 

 


Herdly can keep track of your animal movements and where an animal currently is. This topic explains how to set up each of your locations. This can be done on a computer or mobile device. On a computer, go to Setup > Locations to open the Locations window.

Your current list of locations will appear in the list on the left side of the window. To add a new location, click the + button and then enter the location information in the fields to the right.

  • Label. Enter the name of the location here. You should make sure it is unique so you don't get it mixed up with other locations.
  • Location Type. Select the type of location. At the moment, this is for your information only. Herdly doesn't do anything special with it.
  • Archived. If a location is no longer valid, perhaps because you sold it, you can archive it by checking this field. Once a location has been referred to in Herdly, it cannot be deleted, but archiving it will keep it from appearing in any lists. It will still be shown when viewing historical information.

To modify an existing location, select it in the list and then make your changes in the fields to the right. If you change the name of a location here, any place it was referred to in Herdly will be updated to the new name. Your changes will be changed each time you select a different location as well as when you close the window.

If a location was accidentally entered and has not yet been used anywhere in Herdly, you can delete it by selecting it and clicking the - button.

If you have a lot of locations, you can use the search field at the top to find a location quickly. You can also use the Archived checkbox to indicate whether you want to include archived locations in the list.

 

To work with locations on a mobile device go to Ranch > Locations.

This screen will show your list of locations. At the top is a switch where you toggle whether archived locations are included in the list. To create a new location, tap the + button at the top of the screen and then fill in the fields and tap Save. To edit an existing location, tap it and then make your changes, tapping Save when you are done.

If you have tapped a location, you can use the Archive Location button to change the archival status. Or you can use the Delete Location button to delete the location if it hasn't been used.